A new home.

I do this.
Once every 5-7 years.

Shut down where I had been writing and posting and creating an online life.  Pack up the boxes (back up the site) and shuffle them off to the attic (a special file in dropbox).

It seems like a lifetime ago when I was posting on Live Journal. Most of those posts were like letters to old friends, because they were, shared among a group of people from a message board on Delphi.  They were not written for and were not suitable for public consumption.

After I locked the door tight on that one, I moved over here to wordpress and had a blog called “The Girl in the Middle”.  I loved it, but it was a bit scattered, not thought out, some crafty, some snarky and some about life.  It wasn’t about life as much as Live Journal was, because to many people from my every day life read it. Then, there were many things going on around me that were impacting my life that I couldn’t talk about on my blog or any other media.  Family things that may have changed my life, for better or worse, but not my stories.   I found my self censoring my writing and my snark because it might hurt someone’s feelings.

I started to feel a bit smothered by the limitations I placed on myself in the name of “protecting” others. I walked away, for several months.  I didn’t miss it.

I backed it up.
I deleted it.

Then I spent several months over consuming Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram.  They were my escape.

New ideas started to form and I was getting excited about writing again.  Sharing thoughts, artwork and maybe even some photography. But, I needed time to develop this place, my corner of the web.  

How would I fit it all in?

Lent.

Right now, the biggest sacrifice I can make, the thing that will be the most life and experience altering, is the absence of social media.  From Ash Wednesday until Easter Sunday, I am going dark on all of my social media sites.  

  • No Facebook
  • No Twitter
  • No Instagram (this one will hurt the most)
  • No Pinterest
  • (if I am leaving one out, I will not do it too)

All the free time and energy I will have with out those distractions can be put to great use here.  I have big plans, written on paper that I will share. Soon.

But, for now, I leave you with this:

You own everything that happened to you.

Tell your stories.

If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should’ve behaved better.

~Anne Lamott

Leave a Reply

