Halt! You suspected spammer. Halt!

(a 500-not quite-word post)

And today is brought to you by another email peeve.

I apologize for this automatic reply to your email. To control spam, I now allow incoming messages only from senders I have approved beforehand.

If you would like to be added to my list of approved senders, please fill out the short request form (see link below). Once I approve you, I will receive your original message in my inbox. You do not need to resend your message. I apologize for this one-time inconvenience.

Click the link below to fill out the request: (and here was a link)

SO, I clicked it and then got this…

ERROR: Unable to process Allowed Sender request.

We’re sorry. Because your original message to the recipient is no longer available, we cannot process this Allowed Sender request. Your message may have expired, or the recipient may have accepted or deleted it. You may wish to resend your original message, and check your email shortly thereafter for a new Allowed Sender Request message.

If the recipient chooses to allow email from your address, the message(s) that have been intercepted will be delivered immediately, and any future messages will be delivered without delay.

This is so-2002.

It makes me crazy to get an auto-responder in this day and age. We all have mobile phones. We all see email as soon as we want to see it. There is no need to immediately respond to every little request, HOWEVER, if you send ME and email and I reply to YOU…and the above is what comes to me, answering YOUR question…I might get a little frustrated.

If this person used gmail (that super cool email option from yesterday’s post) this “approval protocol” would not be necessary. But they don’t. They use something that I was not even aware was still available because I associate it with Netscape. It was about that long ago when my office had an account with the company who generated this “client protection”.

I am an associate of the person who has the service that generated this, but I am pretty sure had I been contacting this person to form a professional business relationship, I would probably go to the next name on google.

Then again, I am assuming that someone using this technology is even indexed on google.

Please think about how you use auto-responding and spam detecting technologies in your personal and business email communications. It really does play apart in how you look in the digital world.

Leave a Reply

