The Journey Continues-a 500 word post

Part One | Part Two | Part Three
In January, the spouselet (my husband) and I had a goal setting retreat. One of the goals I set for myself was to lose 10 pounds by March 31, 2015. I knew, if I slowly worked at it that was about a half a pound a week-which is the minimum for healthy weight loss (according to conventional standards).

I made that first goal in 3 weeks (the weeks I mentioned in my last post about being a little pissy and hard to live with.)

I started listening to the Primal Potential podcast and I knew that everything she was saying rang true to me and what I know about my body. Elizabeth Benton also suffered from PCOS so her frustrating experiences with weight loss matched mine, even if my fat loss goal is less.

There were things that I knew, but had forgotten or ignored because-SUGAR.

Processed food, bread and maybe a little ice cream. Honestly, I never met a chip that I didn’t like. LOVE-LOVE-LOVE salty crunch potato or corny.

Even now, I will allow myself a weekly trip to Chuy’s for chips, salsa and creamy jalapeno dip. (I eat the rest of my meal without tortilla or chips). Although, I can see that affair coming to an end. The last two times we have gone to lunch my stomach protested for hours. It just might not be worth it anymore.

I started slowly eating the way Elizabeth talked about in the podcast. The next week or two I still tried to track points while eating mostly “primal”. And then, I had a girls weekend.

My friends and I had been planning a trip out of town for months and I knew this was going to be an all-out food fest-alcohol may also be involved. That weekend, we had dinner at Mellow Mushroom and Tom and Chee, breakfast at IKEA and some Pancake House and lunch at Aladdin. I also had a horrible drink called a Grateful Dead that was pretty much a long island ice tea with sprite instead of coke. Horrid.

(side bar)
Ironically, the drink matched perfectly my new found disdain for all things Grateful Dead. (You can read that story here and here)

When I got to my meeting the next week I was down .2. I had all that fun, I even drank ALCOHOL and didn’t track points and didn’t kill my friends and I LOST.

There was something to this whole hormonal balance thing.

At my last weigh-in I was down 19.2 pounds.

I could hit my 10% goal this week, but I won’t.

I want to celebrate my next sparkly dangly with my “home meeting” where they “bless” each charm with a round of “ooooo”s and “ahhhhahhh”s.

It really isn’t a big thing, but it means so much when there is a whole room full of people who know your struggle. Weight Watchers doesn’t say they are a program for addicts but…

Much like any recovery program.

Within these walls.
Progress, not perfection.
One day at a time.

3 thoughts on “The Journey Continues-a 500 word post

  1. Pingback: Stars and Sparkles -My Story (part 3)-500 word Post | Molly J. McMahan

  2. Pingback: My (shrinking) Story (part 2)- a 500 Word Post | Molly J. McMahan

  3. Pingback: My Story (part 1) -a 500 words post | Molly J. McMahan

Leave a Reply

