Oh Soccer, How I Have Missed You

Tuesday night the spouselet and I were bored so we decided to hit up my son’s former High School soccer game.  We still know a lot of the parents and I was planning on helping a friend with a few photography issues she was having.

Since I no longer have a dog in the fight, I left my cameras at home.  All I had was my iPhone.

Oh, it was painful.
I lasted about 5 minutes before I started to twitch.

I tried shooting some stuff with my phone, but it just doesn’t work on a fast paced, low light situation.

Tonight several of the parents from last year came back to watch the North VS South game-a pretty good rivalry. So, we went again and this time I brought a camera.

In January or there about I broke down and purchased a VERY used 5D (not Mark anything) plain ole 5D to play with and use for my Real Estate Shoots.  I wanted a full frame body, to experiment.  Since my son was done with soccer, I toyed with selling my 7D (the only reason I got it over a 5D MII was the FPS-which i NEVER USED).  I also toyed with letting go of my 70-200 F2.8 (because I only got it for soccer).

Well, let me tell you, there will be no more talk of that.

I am kicking myself in the ass for not getting the 5D years ago.  Even this body that is probably 6 years old blows my 2 year old 7D out of the water.
I need to do some side by side shooting to be sure, but wow.

Now I am trying to figure out how to get to all the games with out looking like that sad soccer mom that can’t get over her kid not playing anymore.

Leave a Reply

