Summer Salsa

20130623-230232.jpgSo, The Spouselet, joined a CSA delivery group, Grasshoppers.  He picks stuff up every other week and this week of course (as with any garden) there were a few squash and zucchini.  For those of you who have neighbors that leave these veggies on your door step in the middle of the night, here is a recipe that is NOT bread and that doesn’t have to be cooked.

I prefer raw veggies over most cooked ones any day.

So, this is whatchoo need:

1 medium zucchini
1 yellow squash (I used two small ones)
1/2 a red onion (again kinda on the small side)
1 seeded jalapeno
3 tomatillos
2 small tomatos (I used roma)
1 small can of corn
2 tbls of olive oil
1 clove of garlic (I used my frozen Dorot)
salt to taste.

Cube and chop and mix and salt.
I let it chill for 2 hours before I dug in.
HOLY MOLY, I LOVE IT.

If you want a little more heat, don’t seed the jalapeno.
I might add a little lemon or lime juice next time for a bit of zing.

FYI-use scoops and not cantina, you need a thicker chip to pick up this stuff.

You could also roast the veggies first and use it as a garnish on chicken or fishes.
Or eat it straight out of the bowl.
Your choice.

 

Leave a Reply

